Das Ensemble

The oboist Elisabeth Baumer established the Italo-Austrian ensemble Affinità in 2012, to create a platform dedicated to the execution of chamber music, in cooperation with close musician friends.

Inspired by the delicate sentiments expressed in Goethe’s Elective Affinities, the ensemble’s name borrows from its translation into Italian: Le affinità elettive. The name also evokes the Italophile Habsburg emperors of the 17th and 18th centuries, as well as the close relationship between the Viennese royal chapel and many Italian musicians.

The members of Affinità all specialised in early music at Europe’s leading music universities. They perform on historical instruments or on copies, and regularly cooperate with prestigious baroque orchestras and ensembles active on the international early music scene.

Affinità’s programme focuses on baroque chamber music for woodwind instruments, as well as it promotes the impassioned rediscovery of lesser known works. In doing so, the ensemble seeks in particular to unfold the full expressiveness of this repertoire, drawing on all the rhetorical means of baroque musical discourse.

The composition and size of the ensemble varies according to concert programmes.

X

Das Ensemble

Die Oboistin Elisabeth Baumer gründete 2012 das österreichisch-italienische Ensemble Affinità aus dem Wunsch heraus, gemeinsam mit eng befreundeten MusikerInnen eine besondere Plattform für Kammermusik zu schaffen.

Inspiriert wurde der Name „Affinità“ von den feinen Empfindungen des Goethe-Romans „Die Wahlverwandschaften“, in der italienischen Übersetzung „Le affinità elettive“. Er spielt aber auch auf die italophilen Habsburger Kaiser des 17. und 18. Jahrhunderts und die engen Beziehungen zwischen der Wiener Hofmusikkapelle und etlichen italienischen Musikerpersönlichkeiten an.

Die Mitglieder von Affinità haben sich allesamt an den führenden Musikhochschulen Europas auf Alte Musik spezialisiert, spielen auf historischen Instrumenten bzw. Kopien und sind in zahlreichen prominenten Barockorchestern und Ensembles der internationalen Originalklang-Szene vertreten.

Den Programmschwerpunkt bildet die hochbarocke Holzbläser-Kammermusik, wobei auch interessante Wiederentdeckungen eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Dem Ensemble ist es ein besonderes Anliegen, die Ausdruckskraft dieses Repertoires mit allen Mitteln der barocken Klangrede zu entfalten.

Je nach Programm variieren die Besetzungsgröße und instrumentale Zusammensetzung.

X