“Bach is the father, we are his sons. Who among us knows how to do it, learned it from him.”

(Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)

“Family Ties” is dedicated to the Bach family: Johann Sebastian and his composer sons, as well as other composers who befriended the Bachs.

In 1735, J.S. Bach wrote a remarkable chronicle of “The Origin of the Bach Musician Family”, which includes a short biography of 53 members of his family. It can be traced back to the 16th century on the male side, and was made up of several generations of renowned city composers, organists and musicians.

The women of the family also benefited from a musical education: Bach’s first wife, Marie Barbara, was the daughter of a respected organist and composer, and grew up with music. From this marriage were born Willhelm Friedemann and Carl Philipp Emanuel, among others.

A year after the unexpected death of his wife, the 36-year-old widower married the young Anna Magdalena Wilcke, the daughter of a popular court trumpeter. During their marriage, Anna Magdalena became an important assistant to her husband, completing many copies of his works, teaching music to the children of the family, as well as being a singer and playing the harpsichord.

It is interesting to juxtapose the “Kontrapunktiker Bach” with his highly respected contemporaries, such as Stölzel, Fasch and Telemann, whose compositional style might seem to be more accessible and “fashionable” compared to Bach’s “scholarly style”.

Bach’s sons are among the most important composers of the period of transition from baroque to classical, and were essential precursors for Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven. While Wilhelm Friedemann and Carl Philipp Emanuel were primarily responsible for shaping the North German “sentimental style” and the “Sturm und Drang” musical aesthetic, Johann Christian developed a sound language emanating from the “gallant style” particularly influenced by the cantabilità of Italian opera.

Georg Philipp Telemann:
Concerto per oboe, violino, viola da gamba e basso
( ) – Vivace – Adagio – Allegro

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach:
Pastorale pour hautbois, basson et basse continue

 Johann Sebastian Bach:
Capriccio sopra la lontananza de il fratro dilettissimo BWV 992

Johann Christian Bach:
Quintette pour clavecin obbligato, hautbois, violon, alto et b. c. op. 22 Nr. 2
Allegro comodo – Tempo di Menuetto

INTERMISSION

Gottfried Heinrich Stölzel:
Sonata a 4 per Hautbois, Violino, Basson e Basso
Allegro – Adagio – Vivace

G. H. Stölzel/ Joh. Seb. Bach:
Aria „Bist du bei mir“ BWV 508
du „Notenbüchlein für Anna Magdalena Bach“, Leipzig 1725

Joh. Seb. Bach:
Invention à 3 BWV 791
du „Clavier-Büchlein vor Wilhelm Friedemann Bach“, Köthen 1720

 Wilhelm Friedemann Bach:
Trio Si majeur pour violon et clavecin Larghetto – Allegro – Presto

 Joh. Seb. Bach:
Sonata à tre BWV 527 „Orgeltriosonate“
Arrangée pour hautbois, violon et basse
Andante – Adagio e dolce – Vivace

 Johann Friedrich Fasch:
Sonata pour hautbois, violon, basson et basse continue
Largo – Allegro – Largo – Allegro

X

„Bach ist der Vater, wir sind die Buben. Wer von uns was Rechtes kann, hat’s von ihm gelernt.“

(Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)

„Familienbande“ widmet sich der Familie Bach: Johann Sebastian, seinen komponierenden Söhnen, sowie Komponisten, die mit den Bachs freundschaftlich verbunden waren.

1735 legte J. S. Bach eine bemerkenswerte Chronik über den Ursprung der musicalisch-Bachischen Familie an, die Kurzbiographien von 53 Familienmitgliedern enthält. Diese Familie lässt sich von der männlichen Seite tatsächlich bis ins 16. Jahrhundert zurückverfolgen und bestand seit vielen Generationen aus bedeutenden Komponisten, Organisten und Stadtpfeifern.

Auch die Frauen der Familie waren musikalisch gebildet: Bachs erste Ehefrau Maria Barbara war als Tochter eines tüchtigen Organisten und Komponisten mit Musik aufgewachsen. Aus dieser Ehe stammten u. a. Willhelm Friedemann und Carl Philipp Emanuel.

Ein Jahr nach ihrem überraschenden Tod heiratete der 36jährige Witwer die junge Hofsängerin Anna Magdalena Wilcke, Tochter eines angesehenen Hoftrompeters. Im Laufe ihrer Ehe wurde Anna Magdalena zu einer wichtigen Assistentin ihres Mannes, fertigte unzählige Abschriften seiner Werke an und war als Musiklehrerin ihrer Kinder und Stiefkinder, Sängerin und Cembalistin tätig.

Interessant ist die Gegenüberstellung vom „Kontrapunktiker“ Bach mit seinen ebenfalls sehr angesehenen Zeitgenossen Stölzel, Fasch und Telemann, deren Kompositionsweise eingängiger und „modischer“ als Bachs „gelehrter Stil“ erscheinen mag.

Bachs Söhne zählen zu den wichtigsten Komponisten der Übergangszeit vom Barock zur Klassik, sie waren wesentliche Wegbereiter für Haydn, Mozart und Beethoven. Während Wilhelm Friedemann und Carl Philipp Emanuel v. a. den norddeutschen „Empfindsamen Stil“  und die musikalische Ästhetik des „Sturm und Drang“ prägten, fand Johann Christian zu einer Tonsprache, die aus dem „Galanten Stil“ heraus besonders von der Gesanglichkeit italienischer Opern beeinflusst war.

Georg Philipp Telemann:
Concerto per oboe, violino, viola da gamba e basso
( ) – Vivace – Adagio – Allegro

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach:
Pastorale für Oboe, Fagott und Basso continuo

Johann Sebastian Bach:
Capriccio sopra la lontananza de il fratro dilettissimo (Capriccio über die Abreise des sehr beliebten Bruders) BWV 992

Johann Christian Bach:
Quintett für obligates Cembalo, Oboe, Violine, Viola und B. c. op. 22 Nr. 2
Allegro comodo – Tempo di Menuetto

PAUSE

Gottfried Heinrich Stölzel:
Sonata a 4 per Hautbois, Violino, Basson e Basso
Allegro – Adagio – Vivace

H. Stölzel/ Joh. Seb. Bach:
Aria „Bist du bei mir“ BWV 508
aus dem „Notenbüchlein für Anna Magdalena Bach“, Leipzig 1725

Joh. Seb. Bach:
Invention à 3 BWV 791
aus dem „Clavier-Büchlein vor Wilhelm Friedemann Bach“, Köthen 1720

Wilhelm Friedemann Bach:
Trio H-Dur für Violine und Cembalo
Larghetto – Allegro – Presto

Joh. Seb. Bach:
Sonata à tre BWV 527 „Orgeltriosonate“
arrangiert für Oboe, Violine und Basso
Andante – Adagio e dolce – Vivace

Johann Friedrich Fasch:
Sonata für Oboe, Violine, Fagott und Basso Continuo
Largo – Allegro – Largo – Allegro

X